Positive and negative photogram of a dried teasel.

I found out about 11.30 this morning about a Big Sky Taster Day at John Leggott College in Scunthorpe, more or less dropped everything to head off there. There were lots of exciting workshops and performances going on and all for free. It was a shame I’d not known about it earlier or I would have been there when the doors opened at 10am.

As it was I had a good couple of hours  before it finished at 3pm to have a little go at felt-making and did some photograms. It was also great to catch up with old friends and teaching staff  – I did A level Fine Art and AS Photography last year before I started my degree course.

I looked in on an altered books workshop, ‘Tinpot’; I didn’t have time to actually do anything there, but have come home with a few bits to play with, including  an old hardback book on Textiles and have got lots of bits that I can gather up and use in it. I usually have a problem with defacing books but love the results I’ve seen, so I’m just going  to be brave and at least the book doesn’t have personal memories attached to it.

