Drift by my window

This will be the fourth year I’ve taken part in  North Lincolnshire Artists’ Open Studios. The whole event is well worth a visit, lots of inspiring work to see and the opportunity to talk to the individual artists. (This is the bit I miss – seeing the other artists work, as we are all open at the same time.) Saturday and Sunday, 17/18 & 24/25 September 2011, 10.30 – 5.00 each day.

www.insightopenstudios.org.uk

The colours of autumn and the leaves falling from the trees were my inspiration for this textile piece. The layers were built up overlapping the individual leaves in different weight fabrics, some opaque and some transparent, stitch and burning adding to the texture of the finished piece.

This shows  a close up detail of ‘Drift by my window’.

close up of 'Drift by my window'

