This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The centre section of the first side of my reversible Rose Window quilt in progress.

I’ve had a  really busy few days, started off on Friday, going with a friend to The Great Northern Needlecraft Show  at Harrogate. It’s much more manageable in a day than the NEC  Quilt Show, nearer for a start, actually arrived before it opened!! The first thing we did was to book two workshops for early afternoon, both on machine applique but using different techniques. This worked well as we did some buying of a few bits and pieces, looked at some of the quilts – some stunning work, loads of photos, quick stop for lunch outside for some fresh air and sunshine, by then we were well ready for a sit down and a change of pace.

The first one was a how to  on ‘Creating Hand Look Needle-Turn Effect Applique’  with Eileen Blood  this was  a really neat way of creating flowers, leaves etc using a fusible nylon mesh, the sewing machine (or if you have one an embroidery machine) and an iron. It looked really simple (but doesn’t it always) and I’m looking forward to having a go. (We’ve spent all day moving things around again, trying to sort out and make more space and put things in sensible places. The main thing was to create more book shelves to move some of the piles off the floor and we’ve made very good progress on that. It’s also made (nearly) a new work area for my sewing machine, so I”ll soon be able to sew and leave the machine out, which really helps.) I have several ideas already to use this technique.

The second one was An Introduction to Invisible Machine Applique with Dawn Cameron Dick.  This was a technique I used several years ago for my king-size  reversible Rose Window quilt (above – i can’t move it to the end for some reason.). It has lots of uses and was really good timing because I’d forgotten how to do it (think I’ve got a note somewhere of my machine settings, but goodness nows where – it’ll save me looking specifically for them). She gave us lots of hints and tips and useful information about needles and threads – I have bought 4 packets of needles and vow to change them regularly (I only usually change one when it breaks). We were given a kit  of a tulip to try out the technique which we started in class and need to finish – again I need the sewing machine! Hopefully tomorrow.

This is the centre section of the second side of my reversible Rose Window quilt which was done as crazy patchwork and then the ‘stone’ (pale yellow fabric) appliqued on top. Eileen Blood’s method would have worked better, but you live and learn. Everything I do is a steep learning curve, but that’s part of the fun and challenge of it.

