As usual the holiday period has flown by. Our son has just left, for a two hour journey tonight rather than very early tomorrow morning to start work at 8.30 am.

I’ve not had much chance to sew, but did a little bit of a big canvas work while they watched football the other afternoon.

I very early finished the little canvas pin cushion that might become a box top, I’ve not decide yet.

But pre-christmas I also managed to make a stocking for a very special little girl.My niece’s nearly 4 year old, Evie, OK, OK  my great niece, but that makes me sound so old!!! I am young at heart though and it’s great to see the magic of Christmas through little ones eyes.

P1240910 P1240911 P1250047

It had to be made very quickly, as it was a last minute request from my niece. Much to my surprise this was the only piece of christmassy fabric I had that was remotely suitable (or at least that I could find!). A piece I’d had for a while and didn’t want to cut up, so it was just perfect with some plain red for the toe, heel, top, and  lining, and green with tiny red red spots for the letters of her name. I used bond-a-web and satin stitched  them too to attach the letters, and satin stitched the heel and toe pieces.

The other project I’ve finally done was to mount and frame  the pieces from all the x-stitch cards my second cousin has sent over many years, which took lots of measuring and working out but finally ended up as this.

P1240720

It still didn’t take me nearly as long as Pam had spent on the individual motif’s over the years. Now it will come out with  all the other the decorations every year.

