I haven’t touched this dragonfly for a month, since Alison Larkin’s last class at the Chapter House in Hull. However, I made some progress on it last night.

It was all in a box (from Hull Scrapstore) that at least keeps it all together, so I just needed the base of the stand and my basic sewing kit. Organised for once! I checked before I left home that I’d got the right stand, only to discover when I got into the room that the tightening screw was missing. It was still just about light enough to re-trace my steps back to the car to see if I’d dropped it en route. No, but fortunately it had fall out in the car and rolled between the flap and the floor of the boot. Relief. It would have moved around too much to stitch easily without it.

Quickly assessing what I’d done so far (doubled up gold thread), I was ready to start the second wing. (The intensely coloured photographs are from this morning in daylight.)

Both wings stitched vertically ….

……. then to start putting in the horizontal threads, which I couched down on the intersections.

By the end of the evening I’d got to here. One of the vertical strands had got caught round the wing nut and come slightly loose after I’d released it, but I can tighten it as I go.

The colour looks much better this morning.

The ends and knots will all disappear when I get to the buttonhole stage.

Hopefully, I’ll get back to it before next month’s class, but for the moment it’s all back in the box, ready to go.