The Seata workshop today was with Karen Lane making seedpods or leaves with Tyvek fabric. I’d previously done a seed pod with her at a Grasby Embroiderers workshop in October 2022, and I was very pleased with it. My intention today had been to use greens and yellows to make a similar one. I’d made my colour choice yesterday and taken only four bottles of acrylic ink with me.

But, having seen some circular flowers that Karen had done, I decided to go “off piste” and work on a roughly circular piece of Tyvek, cut by folding and folding.

Then it was time to start stitching wire on the back, like the spokes of an umbrella, with tiny stitches to encapsulate the wire.

I worked asymmetrically.

A couple of the wires from the spokes, twisted together, became the stem.

A few more spokes, and it became this.

Everybody else had painted theirs and used the heatgun to shrink and make holes in the Tyvek, but I’d only just finished the stitching by the end of the day. Several thought mine looked like Morning Glory. I’d thought Convulvulus (bindweed). I’m happy with the shape but not sure what colour/s to paint it, so will enjoy it as it is until I decide.

Another great workshop with Karen (thank you), and some fabulous results by everyone, all very different from each other. Photos on FaceBook (Scunthorpe Embroidery and Textile Association).