As I wrote at the end of Not black blackwork! (part 2), I needed to do some unpicking on the left hand tower to mirror image the diaper. That wasn’t too difficult, but when I tried to stitch the pattern, I got in a right muddle several times, even after I had flipped it on the computer and only needed to follow it.

After I finally lost patience with it, I put in a variation on the two smaller towers.

Simple and effective.

I then put in the centre part of the bottom tower.

I decided to start at the top and work down, rather than working up from the bottom, and for some reason this worked better. I still had to concentrate and take it slowly …..

…… but eventually got there.

I definitely need to work on it with no distractions around, at least until I have got into the rhythm of the pattern. I now have to work out the patterns that I want for the next sections.

However, other pieces for the Grasby Embroiderers’ Exhibition next weekend have taken precedence.